The Constitutional Court

On December 2012, the Constitution 17th Amendment Act was passed into law and it entrenched the Constitutional Court as the highest court in the land and its decisions cannot be changed by any other court


The Constitutional Court was born out of the country's first democratic Constitution in 1994. It is currently housed in an acclaimed building at Constitution Hill, and it is presided over by 11 Judges who stand guard over the Constitution and protect everyone's human rights.


When a person, an organisation or a company is not satisfied with any decision of the High Court on any matter; they can approach the Constitutional Court for a review of that decision. Normal appeal matters are however dealt with at the Supreme Court of Appeal.





Contact Details

Office of the Chief Justice

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685


Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107


Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard)


© 2017 The South African Judiciary || Developed and maintained by The Office of the Chief Justice